High category/overall ranks - no installs increase?

Hello guys, happy to join this forum and hoping to learn a lot!

I have some iOS promo experience and tried to apply some appstore tactics to my android app, but obviously I am missing a lot.

So I got a lot of installs (paid) in several days and the users were all active. As a result the app started ranking in top 10 in my category and top 30 of what is called “overall” tops in many countries. Much to my disappointment, these ranks barely brought any installs.

I checked the app’s keywords ranks and they are pretty bad. Guess ASO is my next stop, but my question is:

what us your experience of category/top free ranks vs keyword ranks? What brings more users?

apple store brings tons of downloads with overall ranks, guess google play is not like that?

thanks in advance and sorry if this was posted before, I searched for threads but nothing seems similar.

Hi, can you give us a link to your app. I will analyze your app and let you know what you should work on.

Thanks for your generous offer!

However, rather than “shamelessly plugging” my app here I’m interested in people’s general experience-based opinions: are search keyword rankings “better” than overall/category ones? If anyone else has noticed that - great, I’ll know I’m on the right track thinking that, if not - I’ll know my app is off.

I agree with you that ranking does not increase the number of downloads. I just realized that after spending some money on incentive install. Seems to be ASO is the key.
I’m currently checking the apps in my category with keyword search and analyze the keywords in their descriptions. Some of the app developers use black hat or includes famous keywords in their descriptions.