[FREE] Hit the Clouds - fast, faster

Hit the clouds is a game where you control a rocket by tilting your phone. The goal is to hit EVERY cloud, the game is over, when you miss a cloud

The rocket is accelerating steadily and therefore the game will become harder very fast.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rnet.cloud

btw.: I would love any feedback on how good “motion sensitive” steering actual work. I have tried the game even on a very old phone and it still works pretty good (as long as there is nothing stealing CPU in the background).

I am not so sure If I should do more motion sensitive games because I am currently not so sure if people actually found that good or bad. What do you think?

Nice game. I found the motion controls worked pretty good on my galaxy s5. But I’m not very good with it. I usually prefer a different type of control for most games, but for this game I think it works pretty well. I absolutely hate the touch screen joysticks controls most platformers have. Since your just moving left or right you might want to try a touch and drag control, where they could just swipe left or right anywhere on the screen.

I thought about the dragging type for devices without accelerometer … if they exists (dont’ think so). In the end I wanted that everyone is playing the game the same way.

Currently the game seems to be liked by the players, I have some more ideas for upcoming games where I am not sure how the control mechanism will work.

There are some drawbacks of the motion sensitive control.

1. If there is ANY activity in the background, it will jitter.

2. Some devices react a bit strange when held in different positions. Especially older devices seem to need a distinct pitch in order to get smooth values. (I still have an old Samsung I5300 for that purpose with a small low density screen) - but it still works

3. You may not be able play the game in different situations, for example lying on the side or something like that.