App not searchable in Playstore a week after publishing!

I’m a new Android developer and have just released my first app. The app was published on the Playstore a week ago, and I could find it on the store shortly after publishing through using the direct URL or through searching for the exact ID. Unfortunately however, I could not and am still not able to find it within the top 250 results, which appears to be the cut-off point, when I search for it by name.

On my developer console, the status of the app is “published”. I was careful to not publish it under the Alpha/Beta option. The direct URL to my app is as follows:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=calc.calorie.and.bodymassindex

I sent a message to Google developer support. Their response was two-fold. Firstly, they mentioned that because of their specific search algorithm, they “cannot guarantee that every app will display in the search results for its name”. Secondly, they mentioned that they have a limited number of search results (which I have figured out already) to improve user experience and if the app’s search rank for a specific term is too low, it will not be displayed in results.

This response was unhelpful to me. I would have liked some specific suggestion of how to change the name to make it more search-friendly. Is the special character “&” a problem? Is there anything else I can do to help it become searchable?

Further, they seem to suggest that you need popularity (downloads/installs/ratings) for the app to be displayed higher up on the ranking. How do you get these ratings/downloads in the first place if your app is not searchable to begin with?

At this stage, I don’t know if I’ve done something horribly wrong or if I should just be patient. Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated, so thank you in advance!