Making a living from Android

Hello, all,

First of all, sorry if this thread isn’t in the right place…

I’ve been working with android for just a few months, but already have earned a decent monthly revenue. I wonder if many of you are getting to make a living of this bussiness, as I was thinking about reducing my fixed job time to have more time to dedicate to the android apps.
My questions:

1. The risks are too high?
  2. How is the oscillation of revenue along the year?
  3. Will push notifications ads (most of my revenue) have a long life?

Thanks for the opinions!

Vitor

I am in the same position… not earning enough to quit my day job, but earning enough that I need to pay business taxes.

My thoughts are:

• risks are high. After your one-hit-wonder, you need to be able to duplicate it again and again!
  • big studios will move in and the barrier to entry will soon be too high for a one-man dev team
  • advertising fluctuates through the year
  • you cannot guarantee that advertising eCPM/etc will not trend downwards (expect it!)
  • medical/dental/vision/retirement coverage from your day job ?

I’m making a living from Android but:

1. I had a company before and was working as a freelancer,
  2. I don’t have family, so I can risk,
  3. I live in a country where $100 a day is a huge revenue and we all have public medical coverage,
  4. I still do some freelancing for old clients, which lowers the risks.

Those are smart concerns and ones that always get raised, but I personally think the first 4 can be solved:
1- Sure risks are high… if you’re a one-tick pony!! Just make TONS of games, throw stuff at the wall every month and see what takes off! Just like in any business, those who fall asleep on their success will find themselves on the street eventually…