Tap the Box - Income Report

Hey guys, as i promised, i am sharing all the data about our 3rd and latest game Tap the Box which has been the only one with some degree of success. My brother and i started working full time on this exactly 1 year ago with no previous knowledge about making games. He is a programmer, i am an Engineer and the roles are pretty clear: He programs, i do everything else. In the beginning of our 2nd year our goal is clear: Make a million-downloads game. Well, enough talk, lets go to the numbers.

Tap the Box - Costs Summary

Programming time: 4 months full time (my brother)
Design time: 4 months full time (me)
Graphic design: $1.000 (Freelancer)
Music & Sfxs: $ 40 (audiojungle.com)
Promotional video $150 (Freelancer)
Advertising $3.000 (Facebook ads)

So basically, we spent 4 months working and spent an additional $4.290

Tap the Box - Income Summary

December 2013: $3.522 (120k downloads)
January 2014: $1.122 (9k downloads)
February 2014: $380 (4.5k downloads)

December 2013 Income

We used Admobs Banner and Interstitials. The banner appears when the game is paused or in the menus, while interstitials appear every 3 minutes (when the game is paused)
You can see the information on the screenshots.

As you can see, the income peaked on Christmas while it quickly began to decrease after, coinciding with the end of the “New App” period. Not appearing in the New Apps rankings is making the downloads to drop quickly (1.5k/day), hence the income is dropping as well. And also, people are finishing the game (80 levels), so they don´t have many reasons to come back. Nowadays, it is making $90 per day and decreasing.

I would like to know your opinion about making new stages, lets say 60 more. If this would take my brother and i 1 month of full time work, do you think it worth it? Otherwise, what should we expect in terms of income and downloads for the following months?

About advertising & Facebook ads