Software development guidance

Hello guys,

Firstly, I hope I am not posting in a wrong place. Feel free to move my thread somewhere else if you consider doing so :slight_smile:

I am a 23 year old guy, just graduated Computer Science, avid to expand my knowledge base in this field. I am very interested in mobile development, Android development to be more precise. Besides being passionate about this field and having a strong belief that this is the future of software development, I also have some ideas of apps which I think they could become successful.

Even though I have a diploma in software development, unfortunately the educational system in my country is really really poor. So what we learnt during university is either old, or unnecessary or both (of course I am a bit exaggerating, there were also interesting and useful courses, but very few, and none about mobile development).

So why I am writing this to you ? Well, I am looking for some guidance, specific guidance, in this journey I want to start. I need to learn a lot of things, things which you would probably see as basic knowledge which I should have known after 4 years of university. Unfortunately, some websites or advice like “read about that” won’t help very much. I am seeking for specific guidance, if someone is keen to offer it to me.

I need to review my knowledge about OOP (we’ve only studied OOP in C++, which isn’t very cool, and a very short course of Java). I want to learn about design patterns and modern database programming. Or other basic but important topics that you could recommend to me. After I accumulate some solid knowledge about these things, and other things that you consider important for any good programmer to know, I need to start learning Android development and any other things which would be very important and go hand in hand with Android development.