Google Content Policy - interpretations

The Background

1. I’m a long time developer.
  2. I’m new to the technology and process of Android App development.
  3. I’ve been developing my tentpole app for 5 months.
  4. My tentpole app is a match3 game at its core.

The Issue

1. I would like to publish a “quickie” app before launching my tentpole app just as a sanity check against process, and for a little bit of technology validation.
  2. I found some cool Pac-Man reminiscent public domain art online, so I figured I’d put out a extremely rudimentary Match-3 game with Pac-Man theming.
  3. Namco has Pac-Man match3 games (multiple) on the market; there are also indie Pac-Man match3 games; there are also indie Pac-Man non-match3 games.

I am not concerned about copyright issues… I will state that it is an homage to Pac-Man and for nostalgia’s sake, or whatnot.
I am worried about the new repetitive content policy.

The Questions:

1. Is another Pac-Man Match-3 game “repetitive content”?
  2. Is any generic Match-3 game “repetitive content”?
  3. If so, are all “common” games off limits now?
  4. Should I be worried about the copyright issue?

I certainly do not want to endanger my account status. It would be nice to be able to use the Pac-Man theme since I have free art for it and I suspect it will automatically drive a certain token amount of traffic.

Thanks in advance for your input.

I don’t think “Do not post repetitive content.” is about that. I think it’s about the contents of the description of your game - some people might’ve been doing so for SEO purposes - or posting several apps that do the same by one developer.

Hi madhatter,

I believe the repetitive content refers to, for example you release the following:

1 - Pac-Man Killer Match 3
2 - Killed Pac-Man Match 3
3 - Pac Killed Man Match 3

Basically if refers to the developer itself, we cant release the same game multiple times I believe. Not in relation to other developers.