Siri Says

David’s success with the fake iphone app had me thinking of a fake Siri app for android. You would probably get taken down for copyright. I was thinking you could make the Fake Siri app say funny things, like when you ask her which is the best phone. She would say Galaxy Nexus or some android phone. You could make funny responses to all kinds of questions. Ask her whats she wearing and she replies “Nothing at all” or swear at her and she swears back lol.

Such “talk robots” are as old as computers themselves - noone can harm you with any copyright issues xD

But would using the name Fake Siri get you in trouble?

Their are a few apps with Siri in it, a couple of which have a significant amount of downloads.

Potentially yes - but no-one cares as long as original siri is not available for android it is just free advertisement for siri.

If Siri comes to android they will kick them out anyway.

For siri-fake - i am not a lawyer - I think you have good chances to survive as long as the user does not believe you are the original siri - I mean, you CAN use the word “siri” for descriptional purposes of the function of your app but you have to make clear, that it IS NOT siri xD

Laws are complicated and when in trouble you need only a little bit of knowlegde about it (in europe … where many lawyers are not more than secretaries used to do paperwork, you need to know that by yourself)

But to be honest: If Siri demands the deletion of your app, google will follow them

That’s one of the reasons my app Fake iPhone 4S is named in such a way. :slight_smile:

There are quite a number of Siri apps out there for Android. I guess the idea from @XdebugX is still original, in terms of bringing a slightly different sense of humour to Siri. But the general idea’s pretty well used already (as most good ideas are!)

I have seen a number of apps on Google Play for Star Wars themed stuff - often times using graphics.

What is the legal situation for such apps ?