Music Player as Major Project in final year of college

hello all,
I am currently in my final year of my engineering and we have to make a major project in our last semester.So i was thinking of making a music player. I know this is very common type of app on the market but it will be very unique in my college.(and also i ma not getting any other ideas :P) and this app will over many topics like file handling and other java concepts.
So what do you guys think, should i go for it? and what other features can i put in it…like equalizer or sharing music etc…?

in which college you are from, from what i remember u are a newbie android dev’s. shouldn’t u be taking a smaller project for final year, music player has lots of thing to sort out and require a lot of expierience in android development. i started android development with a music player but yet not completed but there was some issue that i wasn’t able to fix . i am also in engineering final year and took a online db project for android

I think you must go with your idea of developing a music player. I know music player is very common app but you can enhance it by adding different sounds, enhancer, brass and make your app of small size so that more and more people can download it.

yeah m a newbie in android development, i am studying in gwalior(IITM).I have to only give synopsis this semester and have to submit my project at the end of last sem…

yeah, actually i thought the sa,e…like creating a theme music player, example car music player or football music player…it will cover ,many concepts of programming …or else i was thinking of making a simple android game…i am learning through kilobolt tutorials…

Game is good if you want some impressive stats to your professors/H.O.D
For music player, the best I found is PowerAmp. See if you can create anything comparable to poweramp else game is a very good idea.