Has anyone tried the tutorials in the "Android Developers" website?

First of all, I have to say that I find the site motivating enough to get me started with Android development.

I have some background, mediocre I would say, from university but never actually put it to use outside academic limits.

So to get started I thought “what better place to start than the official tutorials?”

I am trying to implement this tutorial:Android developers.

Basically, it’s just a tab layout with 3 tabs (Artists,Albums and Songs), an icon for each of the tabs and some text for the content of each tab.

While I have managed to make it run successfully, in the outcome it doesn’t display any of the icons that is supposed to show. The rest is ok.

Has anyone tried it?

I haven’t tried this tutorial in particular, but I’ve played around with some of the Android Developer sample code and found it generally quite helpful.

Regarding your particular problem, there are a lot of little things which could be wrong, so it’s hard to work out the issue without seeing some code. Maybe you’re using the same drawable (@drawable/ic_tab_artists_grey) for both selected and un-selected state? What happens when you click on a tab?

Hi michailangelo,

As David said, it is very difficult to know the problem without seeing what in you various folders. I quickly tried the tutorial to see if there are any issues but all is fine. I run it with the same drawable images provided in the tutorial and the images are visible on both selected and unselected states. I have attached a zipped sample of the project if you need to counter check.
[attachment=99]

TabHostWidget.zip (76.9 KB)

That’s not the case. When I click on a tab, it just goes to the particular tab.

Ok, I changed my manifest file to match yours (the only difference is that I use 15 as minSDKVersion) but still nothing.

Here is the code

HelloTabWidget.zip (153 KB)