App design strategy

In my experience as a software developer I always like to develop software with making the least number of assumptions about an end user as is possible.
As a hobby 2 of us are in the process of developing a wiki type app where users will upload/download content as they desire. Record their interest in subjects, get automatic updates on these subjects etc. Simple stuff.
Problem is, do you design an app with the assumption that a user will ALWAYS have a data connection and if not they will just have to whistle or do you allow them to use the app when no data connection is available and buffer the uploads/New Download updates until their connection comes back on line.
The first option is by far the easiest to code for, the second one requires more thinking and is a lot trickier.

Any opinions welcome

Your first sentence said it all from the view of a developer - the developer should care for every case … should because it is not always possible or economical to do so.

In case of the connection it depends on the app. Every approach has its own drawbacks so the user should be able to choose for himself.

Always connected drains the battery faster, but in case of a wiki or a translation programm there is simply to much data to save them locally.

Caching is a more nice thing - think about the case that the user is at home and uses your app to investigate something. Maybe he wants to show that a friend but will have no inet connection at his friends site (or in the pub) - think of tablets too, they often have only WiFi.

I think the best approach would be to handle it like a browser would cache data. It’s much more work to implement such a mechanism so the developer has to decide if it is worth the extra work (and extra error handling and dialog handling for “cleaning the cache”

If you ask me, I would say go for the easier to implement approach first. And if the app is sucessfull you can still add the cache function to it. (better for free apps)