Screenshot and Share

Hi fairly new here I was hoping I could get some help with an app I’ve just released.

I am a new developer so to be honest coding is still fresh territory for me, I’ve just released my sixth app and it is doing fairly well (over 800 downloads in its first 24 hours) and I was wanting to add a feature where it takes a screenshot and allows you to share it as a post on facebook.

I’ve found a few code snippets, even an entire class on how to do it but none of these come with any documentation on how to implement them, I’ve been working at this for about 8 hours straight now and its 4AM and I am about to scratch my eyes out.

I was hoping that maybe some people here with a bit more experience than me could possibly help me out or point me in the right direction.

I found this example code which I put into a separate class in my app but I can’t figure out how to call on it when a button is pressed elsewhere within the app in a different class. This is using libGDX, hope you guys can help out!

I’m not familiar with libGDX. But based on the linked code I’m guessing there is a static class “Gdx” which is how you access the framework functions. If this is the case, it should be simple. Just copy the code into ScreenshotSaver.java, and then in your button press event, you’ll need something like this:
[JAVA]
ScreenshotSaver ss = new ScreenshotSaver();
ss.saveScreenshot(“myfilename”);
[/JAVA]
This creates a new ScreenshotSaver object, and then calls the “saveScreenshot” method. So long as it can access Gdx.* and ScreenUtils.*, it should work as far as I can see. The most important bit of code is:
[JAVA]
ScreenUtils.getFrameBufferPixels(true);
[/JAVA]
which actually gets the pixels from the screen.

Can anyone else who’s used libGDX shed some light on this?

Here is how I do it in Anagram Hero:

protected File getScreenshot(View view) {
    View v = view.getRootView();
    Boolean oldCacheSetting = v.isDrawingCacheEnabled();