Income Report for Blackberry App World - 2011

While this is an android forum, my initial app designing was done for blackberry. I’ve since switched to designing for Android as I think there’s much more potential, but I’d like to share my report for the last year with Blackberry apps.

Firstly, to give some background.

I started with Blackberry since all our work phones were upgraded to blackberry devices (I’m a technical manager for an IT support company). During December 2010 RIM dropped the developer signup fee and made it free. This I think was to boost the number of developers before they released the playbook.

I started with an easy item - a theme (no coding involved), then made a small app do display a book on depression (The author is a relative and all revenue for this book goes straight to the author). A few months later a friend joined me in creating apps and we put together a trivia game. This did much better than the other apps and pushed us to work on an RPG. After realising we were getting carried away with ideas for the rpg and expanding it to ridiculous levels, we cut right back and made it a simple roguelike game with limited features (if we didn’t do this I would still be coding the rpg).

We’re working together on everything since and have called our ‘company’ Ambrosia-Designs.

Here are some of the interesting things we learned along the way:

• Be patient. RIM can sometimes take 3 weeks to approve an app.
  • Since appworld has a “just in” type section, the first 1-2 days have a huge number of downloads compared to later days.
  • Price does not appear to affect sales much. Trivia is set at tier 1: $0.99. The Roguelike is set at Tier 2: $1.99. They both sell roughly the same number of copies per month. This was true for both the first few days and subsequent weeks. Obviously setting it to a very high value e.g. $8 can result in negative comments regarding price if users don’t think the app is worth it.