uses-feature in eclipse, need help!

Hi all, i’m new to eclipse, also new to java and everything related to Android, I’m having problem here, or may be i did something wrong?

I’m reading the book “beginning android games” from Apress, by following it, i’ve installed…

• The Java Development Kit (JDK) 7u3
  • The Android Software Development Kit
  • Eclipse for Java EE Developers
  • The Android Development Tools (ADT) plug-in for Eclipse
  • Updated all Android SDK from 1.5 to 4.0.3

And I’m stuck in somewhere when it comes to uses-feature, it ask to me add…

<uses-feature android:name=“android.hardware.touchscreen.multitouch”
android:required=“true”/>

So i did, and end up there’s error…

No resource identifier found for attribute ‘required’ in package ‘android’

Also, most of the info in the book they are teaching in code format instead of GUI, its so confusing for a beginner, it takes a lot of time for me to figure out where to find where is the code listed in GUI :frowning:

Like example I mentioned above, I couldn’t find where is the uses-feature in GUI, so wasted my 1 hour time to figure out copy and paste the code in to .xml. :dodgy:

Any help will highly appreciated.

Thanks.

if they only teach in code, they should name thair book “beginning java games” … because android development consists heavily on knowing how it works, if you don’t want to deliver an app full of bugs.

Your error looks like you are using the wrong SDK Version (maybe to old) where this specific attribute does not exist yet.

Also, use the Editor of eclipse, do not edit the manifest manually.

For GUI I’ve found it more practical for ME to make it in code for various reasons. If your app highly depends on a android GUI, than go for the specific docs - it is a wide subject, if you want to use it properly.

If you are solely working with openGL - you should mention to make your gui in opengl too … I like that approach, so I have no true dependency to android :slight_smile: