Newbie looking for guidance on app monetization

Greetings,
I’m a junior android developer on my way to create my first app. It’s already consuming almost all of my free time, which is already limited due to my day job (I work as an outsource junior developer for other applications). As you already know, the prospect of making money from an app, acts as the number one factor for its survival. I don’t claim that I want to make a living out of it, but it would be cool if I could make some money which I could invest back into the app itself. As I have cooperated in the past with digital marketers, my experience showed me that a good way to earn profit, is through ads.
I took a look around the forum’s threads, and stumbled upon a ton of questions and answers, of technical nature about ads that due to my lack of knowledge gave me a headache (told you, I’m a noob!).
Since I’m on the beginner’s level, I have some beginner’s questions to ask. So if anyone is kind enough to enlighten me, I would be more than grateful!

[ul]
[li]Where is the best placement for an ad to show up in an app?
[/li][li]When is the best time for an ad to show up in an app?
[/li][li]Is it best to show only ads relative to the concept of my app, and is there a way to do so?
[/li][li]Do, the factors questioned above, even matter?
[/li][li]Do you have some ad network to recommend for a starter?
[/li][/ul]

Thank you all, in advance :slight_smile:

Welcome :slight_smile: I will give you my opinion based on my experience…

1&2) On app launch. It’s the most profitable placement. I would avoid banners. After the on app launch ad, you can give the best experience to your users without ads (depend on the session length of your app, and other factors… you may include some interstitial after some time of the app being used)
3) It depends, sure I would choose some categories that are similar (some ad networks let you do that), and include games.
4) Placement of the ad sure it does matter.