Hi! New Dev on the Block :)

Hello everyone,

I’m a new forum member and thought I should introduce myself.

Brief (TL;DWR)

I just joined yesterday but I’ve been browsing this forum on and off since February end this year. (Appodeal was the hottest thing being discussed at that time and I guess it has gained some cred here now.) So, I was finding myself coming back to the forum again and again and thought I should sign-up. I hope to learn from all the experiences you’ve shared here and the ones yet to come, to avoid making rookie mistakes in my own pursuit of making money with Android, and to share my own experiences along the way.

Inception

So, last year around mid-December, I decided to dive into Android and make an app. I had been using a Samsung flagship for about two years already and had seen the platform explode into the giant it has become today. But, trust me, monetization wasn’t on my mind then!

I just thought it would be fun to pick a hobby project on the side. I had about 8 years of experience in Java EE already so choosing Android was an obvious decision. I was also looking for an app at the time and the only one I liked didn’t have the features I wanted. So, I thought maybe I can make this… and since there’s just one app in the market that I liked, I guess people are gonna like to have another option.

So, I began working on it in my spare time and in about two months had a rough prototype going. Honestly, it wasn’t the walk in a park I expected. I had some prior experience with Java UIs too (SWT/Swing, RCP) but I still had to spend time learning the ropes. It took some effort to wrap my head around things like the app kinda never exits and the orientation change destroys and recreates the UI on-screen. I was like WTF! (I had a ViewPager with three tabs and their fragments and one more fragment nested inside the second one and I couldn’t believe that I’m supposed to recreate all that just because the user rotated their phone.) :slight_smile: