client -server app

Hello,

I’m new to android,been learning for one month or so.
I want to make an app,which will access a web service,
or for a start,just a database.

i have some questions:

1. Are there any good FREE hosting services for android apps?
    I rather it would be such a service you can host a web service and a database on.

How did you go about making your app with a database,or service?
which hosting service did you use?

2.Is google app engine any good?
3.Can i have some references to tutorials about making such an app,
i’ve searched,but i can’t really find anything useful (or maybe i don’t know what i’m looking for).

Thank you very much in advance :slight_smile:

I would recommend looking for a service for hosting php+mysql. You can find very cheap options, not sure if you’ll find any free ones though.

You can install something such as WAMP on your own pc for testing which basically installs Apache Web Server + Mysql + PHP + some management utilities.

You will need to then learn some php and database coding so you can make pages to accept or send responses to your app.

@hyarion: howzit!

@boja: Depends what you want the database for.

My app uses Google AppEngine (Python) and JSON to transfer the data.

You should provide a little more information on what you want to do!

Thanks for the quick replies :slight_smile:

Basically the app is:

1.the user posts something
2. the post is saved in the database
3.people can vote about the post -> update database

and again,if anyone could direct me to some tutorials on the matter i would be grateful.

I’m using google appengine as well (java webservice serving JSON responses). Not sure how it compares to other hosting, but I had no idea about hosting when I was looking and it seemed pretty easy to set up. So far it’s been free and stayed below their quotas but it wouldn’t take too much volume to go above the free quotas and have to pay a little.