Outsourcing android app question

I’ve done one outsourcing of the app, and I was somewhat happy with the result. But I still think there are some things I need to do better.

The one thing I want to find out is if people use the same person(s) for UI-design as well code, or do you try to seperate these things? Is it smart to introduce them directly or should they go through you (more overhead)?

Any ideas and comments around this?

For an app, it should be ok for the same person to do the graphics but not recommended for game. Though I haven’t outsourced complete app development, but I have read Chad Mureta book. Its good for Appreneur.

Build Your Own App Empire | How To Build An App Empire | Getting Started With App Empire

I’m struggling to understand how to get different people on outsourcing sites to work together and get the final result polished. I guess I have to read and find out little bit more around this. As mentioned I have some experience with this, but the result wasn’t good as I wanted to be.

I hire a graphics person and a Android programmer to help with the programming load.

I am the middle man and control everything. The programmer does not get anything from the graphics guy until I am happy with it. Most times, I need to convert PSD -> something usable.

It just depends how much control you want over quality… ideally you should be able to build a team, introduce them to each other, give them a spec and only check in once in a while… but that becomes more difficult when you are not all sitting in the same office!

Thanks for the info @mind!

My situation is that I’m not into app dev fulltime, nor do i have lot of funds to create a “permanent” team.
So I’m thinking on how to get a designer and programmer to work together in effectice way. I also think I’ll have to act as a middleman. I’m ok with doing some work. I guess a programmer is most probably not a good graphic designer, so I have to have two persons, atleast…