How has push notification ad ban affected you?

Hey guys, I’m a tech journalist working for the mobile marketing blog MobyAffiliates (Blog)

I’m currently writing a feature/guide on the whole push notification ad ban by Google. I want to get an idea of how it’s affected developers - if it’s had any impact at all -, your opinion of the ad format, and what your ideas have been for making up lost revenue. Just wondering if anyone is up for answering a few Qs over email? We can give your app/company a little a plug in the article, or if you prefer to speak off the record then no problem.

Feel free to drop me a line - christopher[at]paperthin.co.uk

just search for “fuck” on this forum
The one with most number of matches is the thread you should read :smiley:

lol javaexp. Good one!

It helped android eco system tremendously. It got rid of spammers and thieves from eco system.

See the Improvement in Quality of Apps in October here:

Number of available Android applications - AppBrain

I think it helped out the eco system as well, less garbage to compete against!

However, I think AppBrain’s graph up there is relative to the whole push notification industry. All the apps that used that form of advertising were considered “low quality” and since they are no longer in the market, does that really mean low quality is gone (I dont think so)… I think it means push notifications are gone, but the rest of crap apps are still on the market just without push notifications.

This x1000!!! So much garbage is gone now…like WOW…Seriously it use to be fucking mental on how much junk was on the market…Yeah yeah sure push was easy money but lets be realistic guys…you won’t last long-term on apps if you just constantly throw up crap

Lol, I might do that :slight_smile:

So no one fancies doing a little Q&A on the subject?

why not? its an open forum.
There are two lines of thought.